GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at 7.00 pm on 23 May 2023

Present:

Councillor Pauline Tunnicliffe (Chairman)
Councillor Colin Hitchins (Vice-Chairman)
Councillors Jessica Arnold, Nicholas Bennett J.P.,
Kira Gabbert, Christine Harris, Mike Jack, Simon Jeal,
Josh King, Tony Owen, Melanie Stevens, Harry Stranger,
Sam Webber and David Cartwright QFSM

59 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND NOTIFICATION OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS

The Chairman welcomed new members to the Committee.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Robert Evans (who was replaced by Councillor David Cartwright) and Jonathan Laidlaw.

60 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations were made in respect on minute 63, Outside Body Appointments -

Councillor Nicholas Bennett declared an interest as a member of the Bromley Town Twinning Association.

Councillor Colin Hitchins declared an interest as an employee of Biggin Hill Airport in relation to the Biggin Hill Airport Consultative Committee.

61 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF THE MEETINGS HELD ON 30 MARCH AND 10 MAY 2023

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meetings held on 30th March and 10th May 2023 be confirmed.

62 QUESTIONS

No questions had been received.

63 OUTSIDE BODY APPOINTMENTS 2023/2 Report CSD23056

The report requested that the Committee, on behalf of the Council, consider the appointment of Council representatives to serve on a range of outside bodies and partnerships. Most appointments were made annually, following

General Purposes and Licensing Committee 23 May 2023

the municipal year, but a small number of appointments were for three or four year terms.

An updated schedule of nominations from the Groups was tabled.

RESOLVED that the appointments set out in Appendix A to these minutes be confirmed.

64 WORK PROGRAMME AND MATTERS OUTSTANDING Report CSD23055

The Committee considered its work programme for the 2023/24 Council year. A Member asked whether there would be a report on recent legislative changes for elections – this would be investigated. The Chairman suggested that the Vice-Chairman should lead some work on the Council's complaints arrangements. It was noted that this should not overlap with work already being carried out on Fix My Street by Cllr Turrell as Executive Assistant.

RESOLVED that

- (1) The work programme be noted.
- (2) The following Members be appointed to the Constitution Working Group Councillors Nicholas Bennett, Simon Fawthrop, Colin Hitchins, Mike Jack, Simon Jeal, Chloe-Jane Ross, Melanie Stevens and Pauline Tunnicliffe.
- 65 LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE: MINUTES OF THE MEETINGS HELD ON 2ND AND 9TH MARCH AND 5TH, 20TH AND 27TH APRIL 2023

The minutes of the Licensing Sub-Committee meetings held on 2nd and 9th March and 5th, 20th and 27th April 2023 were received.

Members were encouraged to sit on Licensing Sub-Committees – a training session was due to be held after the close of the meeting.

The Meeting ended at 7.27 pm

Chairman

Minute Annex

Appendix A

LONDON BOROUGH OF BROMLEY ANNUAL APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES AND PARTNERSHIP BODIES 2023/24

(i) London Councils' Annual Appointments

Leaders' Committee

(S.101 Joint Committee)

Cllr Colin Smith (1 Representative)

Cllr Kate Lymer (1 Deputy)

London Councils Transport and Environment Committee (TEC)

(Associated Joint Committee)

Cllr Nicholas Bennett (1 Representative)

Cllrs Will Rowlands, Simon Fawthrop, Aisha Cuthbert and Adam Grant (Deputies)

Grants Committee (Must be Executive Members)

(Associated Joint Committee)

Cllr Kate Lymer

Cllrs Colin Smith and Diane Smith (Deputies)

Greater London Employment Forum

Cllr Pauline Tunnicliffe (Representative)

Cllr Colin Hitchins (Deputy)

Lead Members for London Councils

(Normally Executive members or chairmen)

Children & Young People, including Safeguarding, Schools, Education and Children's

Social Care: Cllr Kate Lymer

Skills & Employment: Cllr Yvonne Bear

Communities, Empowerment and Inclusion: Cllr Yvonne Bear

Economic Development/Business: Cllr Yvonne Bear

Crime and Public Protection: Cllr Angela Page

Arts/Culture, Tourism, Sport & Leisure: Cllr Yvonne Bear

Health and Social Care including Adult Services: Cllr Diane Smith

Housing & Regeneration: Cllr Yvonne Bear

Planning/Infrastructure/Development: Cllr Alexa Michael

Environmental Issues: Cllr Aisha Cuthbert

Digital and Connectivity: Cllr Christopher Marlow

Devolution and Levelling Up: Cllr Christopher Marlow

Finance & Corporate Services: Cllr Christopher Marlow

London Pensions CIV

(Shareholders Committee)

Cllr Keith Onslow (1 Representative)

Cllr Kira Gabbert (Deputy)

(ii) Partnership Annual Appointments

<u>Safer Bromley Partnership Strategic Group</u> (1)

(Normally, relevant Portfolio Holder)

Cllr Angela Page

Safer Neighbourhood Board (3)

(Normally, includes Portfolio Holder and PDS Chairman)

Cllrs Angela Page, David Cartwright & Colin Hitchins

Bromley Economic Partnership (1)

(Normally, relevant Portfolio Holder)

Cllr Yvonne Bear

Adults Safeguarding Board (5)

(Normally, relevant Portfolio Holders and PDS Chairmen)

Cllrs Mark Brock, David Jefferys, Angela Page, Colin Smith and Diane Smith

Cllrs Jessica Arnold and Kevin Kennedy-Brooks

Children's Safeguarding Board (5)

(Normally, relevant Portfolio Holders and PDS Chairmen)

Cllrs Kira Gabbert, David Jefferys, Kate Lymer, Angela Page, Colin Smith

(iii) Children, Education & Families Annual Appointments

Management Committee of Wood Lodge Living Skills Centre (1)

Cllr Kira Gabbert

Cllr Kate Lymer (Deputy)

Early Years Development & Child Care Partnership (1)

Cllr Kira Gabbert

Bromley "Y" Project (2)

Cllrs Felicity Bainbridge and Kate Lymer

Mentoring Steering Group (1)

Cllr Angela Page (Representative)

Cllr David Cartwright (Deputy)

(iv) Environment & Community Services Annual Appointments

London Road Safety Council (1)

Cllr Nicholas Bennett

(v) Renewal, Recreation & Housing Annual Appointments

The Crystal Palace Community Development Trust (1)

(Crystal Palace and Anerley ward)

Cllr Ruth McGregor

Newable Ltd (1) (formerly Greater London Enterprise – GLE)

Cllr Yvonne Bear

London Youth Games (1)

Cllr Aisha Cuthbert

Proactive Bromley (2)

Cllr Yvonne Bear and Cllr Colin Hitchins

Biggin Hill Airport Consultative Committee

(i) Representative of the Council as freeholder:

Cllr Christopher Marlow

Cllr Simon Fawthrop (Deputy)

(ii) Representative of Biggin Hill Ward:

Cllr Melanie Stevens

Cllr Sophie Dunbar (Deputy)

(iii) Representative of Darwin Ward:

Cllr Jonathan Andrews

Cllr Simon Fawthrop (Deputy)

(The clerk to check whether further deputies can be appointed)

(vi) General Annual Appointments

Bromley Town Twinning Association (3 or 4)

Cllr Kathy Bance, Cllr Kim Botting, Cllr Hannah Gray and Cllr David Jefferys

Community Links Bromley (2)

Cllrs Kathy Bance and Kevin Kennedy-Brooks

(The Clerk to check whether an additional representative can be appointed.)

Leadership Committee of the Bromley Community Fund (1)

Cllr Pauline Tunnicliffe

(vii) Four Year Terms (2023-27)

The Beckenham Parochial Charities (2 of 6)

Mr Robin Mitchell and Cllr Michael Tickner

Nash College Local Advisory Board (1)

Councillor Thomas Turrell